Finding other hunters stands.

Discuss the science of figuring out our prey through good detective work.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Jimmy wallhanger
500 Club

Finding other hunters stands.

Unread postby Jimmy wallhanger » Sat Jul 03, 2021 6:55 am

Was back at it after Turkey season ended, was pouring rain today and I was trucking through waist high vegatation in the swamp like a madman, when I found another hunters set up, a simple hang on with 3 sticks, in what seemed to be a decient spot, but id say about 200 metres from the bedding area, thats 220 yards in American. :lol:

I always mark other hunter stands on my GPS, its against the bylaws to leave stands up, you're allowed to hang and hunt.

this is my first year really getting after it and Im wondering what do you guys do about other hunter sign, Ive yet to find sign of anyone where I plan on actually going but they are on the perimiter of the swamp.

Part of me wants to cut down the sticks but I just cant do that to another hunter, plus I think theres value in knowing where others are.

After I plug my GPS into basecamp im going to try to figure out how to screenshot the maps to post.

Highlight was bumping a nice buck was able to slip to within 50 yards as it was raining hard. Also the bugs were insane even with the heavy rain, i had a mesh upper body bug net that was a life saver.

"I don't care if you use it or not, I could care less, There's no money in it for me, Im not making any money from scent-lok... I'm making a little bit of royalties from the saddlehunter suit"
greenhorndave
500 Club

Re: Finding other hunters stands.

Unread postby greenhorndave » Sat Jul 03, 2021 7:25 am

Meters? :think: :lol:

I am of the same mindset as you. I don’t like em, but I want to use them to my advantage. There are probably different creative ways to do it, just use your imagination. Maybe give that stand a certain pattern of human scent and create a pinch point out of ground scent?
----------