What do you look for in an aerial photo?

Discuss the science of figuring out our prey through good detective work.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

BackWoodsHunter
500 Club

What do you look for in an aerial photo?

Unread postby BackWoodsHunter » Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:22 am

Hey guys, I am new to the idea of hunting public land that hasn't been scouted much. I have found some good pieces and after much time on this site I sure could save a lot of time picking out spots to hunt off aerials rather than going in and walking the whole piece of land. So...what do you look for that would indicate the presence of deer in general. I am not out for the next monster buck I'd like to just find deer in general as a confidence booster before I hone my skills to tracking down just big bucks. I'm sure this is quite the loaded question and cannot be answered in a few sentences. So for those that respond I thank you in advance.

"The history of the bow and arrow is the history of mankind." Fred Bear
Hodag Hunter
500 Club

Re: What do you look for in an aerial photo?

Unread postby Hodag Hunter » Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:17 am

Where we hunt Back woods, I look for isolated pockets of swamp land. Where points or pockets meet the high land this is where I look. Find these swamp areas near clear cuts all the better. Searching for oaks helps also but hard to tell on aerial photos.

Tamarack, cedar or spruce low land/swamp with an isolated pocket of high land can be a gold mine also for beds.

Now with Dan's findings on bucks bedding on the 1/3 slope of hillsides I may be missing a whole lot of good ground. Time will tell.
dan
Site Owner
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HuntingBeast/?ref=bookmarks

Unread postby dan » Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:22 am

Aerials don't help with all properties. Using both an aerial and a topo seems to work much better.
For me to answer your question without righting a book, what type of terrain and elevation are you considering hunting?
BackWoodsHunter
500 Club