Bachelor groups vs loner bucks

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

tim
500 Club

Bachelor groups vs loner bucks

Unread postby tim » Thu Jul 22, 2021 3:54 am

Anybody else got any bucks they dare targeting that don’t bachelor group up and stay loners?
I’ve got a mature buck I’ve been targeting and humbly losing for 3 years now. 2019 he was completely mature humongous body and rack and stuck tight with another mature 10 pt.the 10 pt was killed and the target buck disappeared. He reappeared in 2020 and I though he was going down hill, to my surprise his rack got bigger only now he was very elusive on cams and never hung with a bachelor group that was also in the area he became a loner.disappear around the same time as year before. Now it’s 2021 he shows back up I thought he looked like he was going downhill initially( late grower I guess) again he’s going to grow an even bigger rack than past 2 years. His body is incredible. Now for this year he is hanging with a lone doe! Not sure what to think of this but they are always together . This deer has to be in the 8+year old range. Anyone else see this behavior of a buck hanging with a doe let alone fully mature buck. She don’t have a fawn. Last year and again this year on a different farm I have a young buck chasing around and hanging with a doe entire summer and into fall, last year they both looked like 1.5 yr olds now I believe it’s the same 2 hanging together . Other than that I’ve never seen this behavior

greenhorndave
500 Club

Re: Bachelor groups vs loner bucks

Unread postby greenhorndave » Thu Jul 22, 2021 4:54 am

What are those GPS coordinates?

:lol:

That’s pretty cool to observe. I don’t have that kind of history, but I find it fascinating that he’s locked in on one doe like that. He ain’t gonna have to go far to scent check that one!