Scattered Beds and Scattered Food:How do narrow down where to hunt?

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

FlyingMullet

Scattered Beds and Scattered Food:How do narrow down where to hunt?

Unread postby FlyingMullet » Wed Oct 16, 2019 5:45 am

Classic Shooting House Hunter New to the Beast Style

Luckily I have always liked to scout so I have some experience with sign. My favorite time of the year is to scout in Feb after season close and the rut ending not to long before.

Yet this year I didn’t have that luxury.

I hunt public and I have 3 spots that have scattered beds with a large spread of food.(I have others that I can narrow but these have a ton of sign

Also flat and consistent timber for the most part. So no sides of hills, fire roads, or thickets to funnel deer like I am used to. Aka swamp bucks.

How do y’all approach this

FlyingMullet

Re: Scattered Beds and Scattered Food:How do narrow down where to hunt?

Unread postby FlyingMullet » Wed Oct 16, 2019 5:46 am

Imagine late summer scouting a new area like this
Andy1965

Unread postby Andy1965 » Wed Oct 16, 2019 3:23 pm

That’s hunting in the Deep South in a nutshell. Everywhere is bedding and everything is food. Best advice I can say is try to hunt the food that’s hot right now. Different oaks drop at different times. Pin oaks or water oaks drop first. Then live oaks and if you are lucky swamp chestnuts are money if you can find one dropping. Look for persimmons around the edges of pines near water. There is just so much browse they won’t move a lot until the rut and maybe that’s when your feb scouting will pay off
headgear
500 Club

Unread postby headgear » Wed Oct 16, 2019 10:00 pm