Packing deer out in cooler?

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Tennhunter3
500 Club

Packing deer out in cooler?

Unread postby Tennhunter3 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 1:57 am

I'm new to packing a deer out in cooler doesn't look that hard.

How many of you guys pack a deer out in a ice chest?
This seems easier then dragging the entire deer solo out of some areas. I saw they did this with Predator Tcs buck last year in Minnesota.

My question would be how do you pack out the head you intend to taxidermy cut through the body where front legs are located? Sawzaw or Hand Bonesaw?

What size ice chest?
I imagine if I left my yeti cooler attached to kyak it would walk away pretty quick lol.

Any tips for packing a deer out is appreciated it's something I'm new too learning.

Never give up Freedom for imagined safety.
Tennhunter3
500 Club

Re: Packing deer out in cooler?

Unread postby Tennhunter3 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 2:55 am

After reading my states rules and regulations apparently hunters cant quarter a deer. Why????? With the hot summer weather seems like it would keep meat fresher plus be easier for the hunter.

Wonder if I can saw deer in half and take it out in 2 pieces?

Funny watching a 150 pound guy drag a 300 pound Deer out of a swamp I guess. Alot of my areas meat might spoil by time I get it to the truck.
elk yinzer
500 Club

Unread postby elk yinzer » Sat Jun 08, 2019 3:23 am

I don't really get why you'd need a cooler or how that would be effective in packing it from the kill site. In reasonable temps you have quite a long time to get the meat chilled. Just getting the hide off and bringing the meat down to ambient temps quickly, you have hours after that to get it into cold storage. I guess in hot Southern temps having a cooler in the car might not be a bad idea, I don't know.