Didnt locate the Bedding

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

ZTachick
Facebook: ZACK TACHICK

Didnt locate the Bedding

Unread postby ZTachick » Fri Aug 24, 2018 8:20 am

So I am new to the ways of the hunting beast but I have soaked up everything so far from all the videos on youtube and reading here. So I have a "what would you do question. So I found rubs galore & doe bedding on this single finger that is in this public marsh I found. I wasn't able to scout the whole marsh yet but with it getting so close to the season I dont want to go back in unless I can get in there during the rain. So to paint a picture of the land imagine a circle of cattails in the middle. The outside edge is all super thick dogwood and goes out a couple acres in every direction with some smaller non sit able trees here and there.Then there is a finger that comes straight down from the north dead center of the cat tails where I found all the sign. I coudnt find any buck beds from the north east or south. The west is all I have yet to scout but there is one small island with 2 trees maybe 20sq feet. The other is a bit bigger island about 1/8 acre.So my thinking is bedding can be on there. Also Possible food source to the north on private land but unsure due to having no access. So if you were me with no more scouting would you...

A) Hunt the finger with a wind that is coming out of nw sw w with a chance of over looking a bed from the other directions?
B) Go back and scout during the rain or pre rain day?
C) Sit in a different spot and try to observe if possible?
D) Not sit there and scout out of season?

I have a lot to learn in the ways of the hunting beast. Just sucks I found out the hunting beast just at the end of July. I knew about Dan but I didn't dive into his ways till finding the forum/youtube

Lockdown

Re: Didnt locate the Bedding

Unread postby Lockdown » Fri Aug 24, 2018 8:38 am