Bedding on public land

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Ajc5o5o

Bedding on public land

Unread postby Ajc5o5o » Wed Sep 06, 2017 5:45 pm

Hi everyone, brand new to the site and I've already spent the past 4 hours pouring over all of the info on the boards, love it! I'm fairly new to hunting, this will be my second season and I hunt only public land in upstate NY. If anyone else is in the Rochester NY area please messsge me it would be great to hook up! To get to my question...I've found a ton of what I believe to be bedding areas but what confuses me is that I've not once seen a deer in these areas during daylight hours. From what I understand that's where they should be a large portion of the day. I've been cautious with my scent and approached these areas using the wind, both scouting and on the rare occasion hunting last season. So I guess what I'm asking is if they aren't bedding there during the day am I most likely mis identifying these areas? Also what is the ideal time to scout bedding areas, both season and time of day? Any help would be greatly appreciated as I struggled to locate deer last season.

Mschmeiske
500 Club
Facebook: Www.facebook.com/mschmeiske

Re: Bedding on public land

Unread postby Mschmeiske » Wed Sep 06, 2017 10:45 pm

Scout year round! All the sign seems to stand out easier post season though when all the leaves half dropped and it's a bit more open. Snow can be helpful too, real easy to identify beds then.
Tennhunter3
500 Club

Unread postby Tennhunter3 » Wed Sep 06, 2017 10:51 pm

January or February are best to scout before green up.

As far as time it makes no difference you will still spook the buck bedded in that area.

It does seem strange you are not hearing deer run off from the bedding your checking.

While scouting try to focus on 1-3rd from the top bucks like the area behind their beds to be thick with open in front.