Learning valuable lessons

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Wlog
500 Club

Learning valuable lessons

Unread postby Wlog » Tue Nov 29, 2016 1:48 am

Although I've spent the last several deer seasons going after nice bucks I'm relatively new to targeting a specific buck. When the buck I'm after now started showing up on my trail cameras last year I was optimistic that it was only a matter of time before we crossed paths. Wow was I wrong. I have spent some time pursuing some bucks in other areas this year but primarily I've gone after this deer and probably 1/3 of my hunts have been for him.

Even if I don't end up getting this buck he sure has taught me some lessons. I've been one step behind him all year. It's discussed on here all the time about scouting more than you hunt and sitting back and observing but it's hard to make yourself sit back when you THINK you know exactly where the deer is hiding. I'm guilty of going for it and swinging for the fences when I should be sitting back and trying to gain more Intel. That's lesson one. BE MORE PATIENT.