Taking that next step and passing 2.5 year old bucks

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

bowmike
500 Club

Taking that next step and passing 2.5 year old bucks

Unread postby bowmike » Thu Nov 24, 2016 2:57 am

I have started to get on to a lot of nicer bucks. As a lot of you have read my scouting time and such is almost zero anymore however. I am having trouble passing decent 2 year old bucks though. I don't know what it is and I have been trying to soul search for the reason. Antlers are not all that important to me, but at the same time I have been getting more opportunities on older deer on the section of PA Public ground I hunt. I know that on any given year there are a few 115-125" bucks and one or two over 130 on that section of public ground. I have been passing little bucks for the last 4 years and took a decent 7 point 2.5 year old buck. IF you read the story I had a 120-130" buck bust me and as I was grunting for him to stop my buck came in and I shot without any hesitation. My buck was decent for the area but not even close in rack size and maturity level as the other buck.