Tips for climbing crooked tree with your Lone wolf?

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

msw08d

Tips for climbing crooked tree with your Lone wolf?

Unread postby msw08d » Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:18 pm

Hey guys just got my first lone wolf stand and let me tell you it is sweet. I'm stealth stripped, inner-tubed, molle strapped and ready to roll. Can climb a a straight tree silently and in no time. Being a newbie I was wondering if you guys have any tips when it comes to climbing crooked trees. Seems like this may make it more time consuming and make it a little more difficult. Looking forward to hearing what you say. Thanks!

bigwoodshuntn

Re: Tips for climbing crooked tree with your Lone wolf?

Unread postby bigwoodshuntn » Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:25 pm

I'm pretty new to this also so some more experienced guys will probably have some more input than I. But what really seemed to help me for the goofy crooked odd ball trees was to just slow down and not try to race up the tree. Confidence in your equipment helps a ton. But other than that just practice and realize there is no set time you have to be up the tree in X amount of minutes or anything like that.

Good luck!!

[ Post made via iPhone ] Image
Jeff G
500 Club

Unread postby Jeff G » Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:37 pm

Do everything you can to get the post closest to vertical. The batwing, really helps in crooked trees. Cam lock it.

msw08d

Unread postby msw08d » Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:42 pm

So you would want the sticks to be perpendicular to the ground no mater the angle to the tree right?
Jackson Marsh

Unread postby Jackson Marsh » Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:51 pm