HELP!!! Topo w/ satellite overlay or vice versa.

Post topo’s and Aerial photos for free advice. Food plotting, land manipulation, water holes, ect.
User avatar
VA5326
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 2:47 pm
Location: Virginia
Status: Offline

HELP!!! Topo w/ satellite overlay or vice versa.

Unread postby VA5326 » Sat Jul 30, 2011 5:50 am

Hi guys,


I need some help. I'm sure this has been posted before but I'm trying to get some topos together for everyone to look at on here. I'm trying to figure out how to get satellite images overlayed with topography. Can anyone help me?? I tried doing a search but some of the info seems to be a little dated. Thanks in advance.


VA


If you want to kill a deer you have to be in the woods.
User avatar
headgear
500 Club
Posts: 11470
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Northern Minnesota
Status: Offline

Re: HELP!!! Topo w/ satellite overlay or vice versa.

Unread postby headgear » Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:00 am

Checkout mytopo.com - they have a hybrid aerial/topo overlay map that is great. They basically try to sell you a printed map so you have to go through their whole process but they have a great preview at the end that you can click on that shows you a nice large map.
User avatar
wmahunter
500 Club
Posts: 1225
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:43 am
Location: West Central Florida
Status: Offline

Re: HELP!!! Topo w/ satellite overlay or vice versa.

Unread postby wmahunter » Sun Jul 31, 2011 12:45 pm

http://freegeographytools.com/2008/crea ... ogle-earth

Topo overlay for google earth

Here is an easy way to get topo maps on google earth:

1: 5th button, "add image overlay"

2: Call it "show topo overlay" or something like that

3: select the "refresh" tab, and click the button "WMS Parameters"

4: select the WMS server "http://terraservice.net/ogccapabilities.ashx"

5: select the line in the box on the left side "[O] USGS Raster graphics (topo maps)(style=black grid lines on geographic coordinates)"

6: click the add button between the windows to add it to the overlay.

7: Click ok

8: on the "refresh" tab, have the view refresh after the camera stops, and I find 4 seconds a good time to use.

9: click ok to save the overlay

10: now, in your "places" windowpane, there wil be an entry for "show topo overlay". check or uncheck the box to turn on and off. you can also use the slider at the bottom of the "places" windowpane to adjust the transparency of the overlay.

try is out. The topo overlay fades in and out based on the transparency adjustment.
User avatar
VA5326
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 2:47 pm
Location: Virginia
Status: Offline

Re: HELP!!! Topo w/ satellite overlay or vice versa.

Unread postby VA5326 » Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:41 am

Thanks guys, I got what I needed. I went to MyTopo and paid the $30 for annual membership. It is perfect fo what I need it for and the satellite/topo overlay is pretty awesome. Plus, $30 for a year is pretty good in my opinion. I'll be posting some new areas that I'm hunting this year for you guys to take a look at. Thanks again!


VA
If you want to kill a deer you have to be in the woods.
User avatar
headgear
500 Club
Posts: 11470
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 7:21 am
Location: Northern Minnesota
Status: Offline

Re: HELP!!! Topo w/ satellite overlay or vice versa.

Unread postby headgear » Mon Aug 01, 2011 5:33 am

If you are happy VA that is cool but you can get map previews for free, unless they happened to drastically change everything in the past 2-3 weeks.
User avatar
DEERSLAYER
Super Moderator
Posts: 8187
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 3:22 pm
Location: Western L.P. of MI
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: HELP!!! Topo w/ satellite overlay or vice versa.

Unread postby DEERSLAYER » Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:44 pm

headgear wrote:If you are happy VA that is cool but...

If I knew you were going to pay for a service I would have said check out mapcard for $20 a year. I haven't checked out MyTopo in quite a while though so maybe they are a better match for you.
You cannot invade mainland America. There would be a rifle behind every blade of grass.
Isoroku Yamamoto, Japanese Admiral
User avatar
VA5326
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 2:47 pm
Location: Virginia
Status: Offline

Re: HELP!!! Topo w/ satellite overlay or vice versa.

Unread postby VA5326 » Tue Aug 02, 2011 2:12 pm

DEERSLAYER wrote:
headgear wrote:If you are happy VA that is cool but...

If I knew you were going to pay for a service I would have said check out mapcard for $20 a year. I haven't checked out MyTopo in quite a while though so maybe they are a better match for you.



I'm totally cool with what I bought. It's perfect for what I need it for. Thanks guys.


VA
If you want to kill a deer you have to be in the woods.
TreeRat
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 4:35 am
Status: Offline

Re: HELP!!! Topo w/ satellite overlay or vice versa.

Unread postby TreeRat » Fri Aug 05, 2011 4:01 am

Wmahunter. I have been trying to do this in Google earth but it seems to work then a big red X comes up. any Ideas. Thanks
User avatar
wmahunter
500 Club
Posts: 1225
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:43 am
Location: West Central Florida
Status: Offline

Re: HELP!!! Topo w/ satellite overlay or vice versa.

Unread postby wmahunter » Wed Aug 10, 2011 3:43 am

I received the "X" a couple of times also while I was getting used to it. Choose a smaller area. Then as you get use to it, try expand the green border box.

Between setting the aerial height distance and adjusting green box it can show a nice overlay.
singleshot78
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 3:18 pm
Location: South Louisiana
Status: Offline

Re: HELP!!! Topo w/ satellite overlay or vice versa.

Unread postby singleshot78 » Fri Aug 19, 2011 1:19 am

WMA that is sweet. Thanks for the info!!


  • Advertisement

Return to “Land Management”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest