Buck rut travel

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
sagDE

Buck rut travel

Unread postby sagDE » Sat Apr 17, 2021 1:11 pm

I have been scouting an area a lot recently, and I want to say thank you to everyone who has been so helpful answering my many questions. I am new to beast tactics and am trying to learn. This afternoon I think that I had my first breakthrough in understanding how bucks are using this property but am hoping that someone with more experience of rut movement could verify. So, I have found numerous doe bedding areas in the woods with trails that connect the doe bedding to crop fields and pasture type areas and to other doe bedding areas within the public tract. I have not found any buck sign at all with the exception being that I found a very large (tall) rub from last season and numerous historical rubs all at the intersection of multiple doe trails. There is one trail that is heavily used that cuts across the property from private to public that also cuts across many doe trails as it crosses the tract. The rub is on that trail. Last November, during rut, I wounded the best buck that I have seen in the woods on that same trail... didn't realize that until tonight. I hit him right in the shoulder, the arrow broke off right behind the collar. Nerves and "buck fever!" Anyway, I found a real nice bed on top of a large mound of dirt adjacent to a large doe bedding area the other day. There is a single bed on the mound of dirt which leads me to believe that it is a buck bed, even though there is no other sign. The trail with the rub leads to this bedding area as well. It's the largest bedding area I have found on the property. Is it possible that a cruising buck would bed there to observe the does in that area and not leave any sign? Or would a doe bed solo like that? The lack of buck sign leads me to believe that this area is used mostly during rut but I'm not sure. In one of the cr