A new property question.

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
SEOHBB

A new property question.

Unread postby SEOHBB » Mon Sep 14, 2020 12:52 pm

Hey all, im working on a new family property here and wanted to see if any of you see anything that stands out set up wise. Its in southern ohio and ive never stepped foot on it, at least not since i was 3 or 4 years old. Ill be going in blind november 1 thru 8 and it sounds like ill have the first dibs on it all year. I live a couple thousand miles away so Im no expert and am looking for some help since ill be going in blind. Im really interested in this place, biggest buck Ive ever seen in my life was about 1 mile away as a crow flies from this piece and it connects by hardwoods. Looking at the ground south on google earth i see a couple small food plots so my guess is the neighbor probably pressures his deer and if untouched I could be into some quality sits. Anyways, if anyone sees any topo features that jump out feel free to share. Common winds are w, sw, and norths in november. Thanks
this url to save or share this map:
http://www.hillmap.com/m/ag1zfmhpbGxtYX ... IDe9sa1Cgw

SEOHBB

Re: A new property question.

Unread postby SEOHBB » Mon Sep 14, 2020 1:06 pm

http://www.hillmap.com/m/ag1zfmhpbGxtYX ... ID-qvK2Cgw

I added rough property lines to it. Hopefully that helps. Im trying to figure if i should be hunting close to the top of at the head of the big draw on the south facing hill. Ill likely be going in at dark so im not sure which elevation to go with.

Do you all see any southwest or west wind spots?

I figure ill move to where the acrion is but id like to be in the game to start. What do yall think.
Huntress13
500 Club

Unread postby Huntress13 » Mon Sep 14, 2020 11:38 pm

A topo map might help.

I would try to do some scouting and an observation sit or two to try to determine best places to set up.
Grizzlyadam
500 Club