Pinning down a bucks bedding

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
Skers2001

Pinning down a bucks bedding

Unread postby Skers2001 » Tue Aug 11, 2020 5:50 am

This is my first post, any information helps. I recently saw a giant buck come out onto this alfalfa field. he came out by the zoned area. I think he is somewhere in the zoned area which does not narrow it down much. It was 2 hours before dark with a storm coming in about 20 minutes after. I would presume he would be close because of how early he was in the field but I am not sure. The majority of the property is extremely thick cover. I have had trouble pinning down really good bedding areas for bucks. I just started learning these tactics over the last month. I have read the river bottom forums but any other info you have would be greatly appreciated. I must add that there are EXTREME numbers of does. Trails are everywhere so it can be hard to distinguish which trails are used by bucks.

Skers2001

Re: Pinning down a bucks bedding

Unread postby Skers2001 » Tue Aug 11, 2020 9:19 am

I had to reattach picture.
Skers2001

Unread postby Skers2001 » Tue Aug 11, 2020 9:19 am

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Boogieman1
500 Club

Unread postby Boogieman1 » Tue Aug 11, 2020 10:38 am

I don’t know what state you hunt or when your season opens. But will offer you this, if you got a velvet season or if you are still seeing him in the field in daylight after velvet sheds that’s all u need. I didn’t look at your map cause quite frankly I don’t need to. Have put enough time in to form a pretty high odds guess of where a buck would enter a field. Farmers as well as terrain always seem to set up fields the exact same way.

If you don’t have a Velvet opener or he disappears after hard antlered then u have a completely different struggle on your hands which highly possible is a complete relocation.