Soaking wet gobblers, saving tail fan

Bird Beast Behaviors, Hunting Stories, Pictures, Tactics, Q&A.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

bowmike
500 Club

Soaking wet gobblers, saving tail fan

Unread postby bowmike » Tue May 19, 2015 6:42 am

When I shot my gobbler it rained the night/morning before. He was pretty damp. I am still a rookie so I like to save all of the trophy as I can, and was so nervous that his tail fan would not look good.

Here is a pic of the bird when I brought him home.

As you can see he was drenched, and his tail fan looked horrible. I had to try though, as I love the looks of fans.

So I got to work Friday night around 10:00. I did my jake fan first as it was dry. I believe he was missing one of his center tail feathers. but I filled it in. He turned out great, and is drying now. I liked the copper colored secondary feathers he had.

One thing that I learned on these is that there is a bone right in the center of the tail fan that the feathers attach too. I did not take the bone out of my first mount. On this one I took out the bone and got a lot more meat cut out and a flatter fan. I suggest doing this to anyone who is saving their fans.

After I got the jake finished up, I moved onto the gobbler. I was a bit nervous as it was soaked from the hunt. His tail fan looked very messed up, and I was worried.
I got it out, and started removing the meat. I had kept a decent mount of his secondary feathers as well. I did not do this so much on my first bird, so I was excited to see how it would look in the end. I did not have time the day I shot the bird to really get to check him out so I was excited to have a look.