Bear hunt 2018 (with pics now !!!)

The Beast’s of the North woods. Behaviors, Hunting Stories, Pictures, Tactics, Q&A.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

AlexisQc
Facebook: alex_foot41@hotmail.com

Bear hunt 2018 (with pics now !!!)

Unread postby AlexisQc » Sat Jul 21, 2018 9:41 am

I have been hunting bears for 4 years now, all DIY on public land here in Quebec,Canada. This year I started baiting in mid may and did a total of 3 trips to go and refill my two bait locations. This year I chose a spot that is about 5 hours from Montreal and about 100 miles from the nearest town. I chose this spot for the fact that it is really remote, yet relatively easy to get to (30 miles of dirt road only) and there is some really good walleye fishing 8-) 8-) . Luckily I was able to fish and camp on the three baiting trips I did, making them a lot more enjoyable. This year I baited with popcorn and dog food and choose two baiting locations located in funnels of dry land (mature mixted forest) between lake and marshes where I tought the bears were going to travel during the rut in late june.
One of the barrels (accessible by canoe only) got hit the first week but the other one wasn't hit at all when I showed up on the last baiting trip (It had been there 3 weeks already).

So I took a week of vaction to go and do the killing after all the hard work and miles put into baiting those bears.