A few more bear question's

The Beast’s of the North woods. Behaviors, Hunting Stories, Pictures, Tactics, Q&A.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Schultzy
500 Club

A few more bear question's

Unread postby Schultzy » Wed Apr 28, 2010 7:49 am

How many years you been bear hunting?

What's a mature bear to you?

How can you tell It's mature before you shoot It (boar and sow)?

What's the biggest front pad you've saw on a dead bear?

What's the biggest front pad track you've found?

dan
Site Owner
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HuntingBeast/?ref=bookmarks

Re: A few more bear question's

Unread postby dan » Wed Apr 28, 2010 9:03 am

I have hunted bears for about 20 years, but that don't mean I have 20 years experience... In Wisconsin over my lifetime the stretch in between tags has gotten longer and longer over time... So there have been long periods of time between tags. Fortunately I have done some out of state hunting, and have been fortunate enough to help some family and friends with there bear hunts. People who hunt canada, minnesota, and those who guide or run dogs get a lot more experience actually hunting and scouting than those of us in long draw states....

Bears are very hard to age... cutting tooth sections and counting rings is the only accurate way. All we can do is look at them and say "yup" thats a shooter" They can live to be 30 years old or older in the wild.

When it stands broadside, does its belly hang low or not, does its legs and body look lanky or stocky? Is its face pointed and more dog-like (young) or more square (mature)? Do its ears look large in comparison to its head (young), or do its ears look small, spaced further apart, and its head large and round like a basketball?
I always say, use the wow factor... If your after a monster or nothing, trust me, you won't need to use any of the above rules. You will know immediately that it is a shooter when it walks out.