Where to Start

Post topo’s and Aerial photos for free advice. Food plotting, land manipulation, water holes, ect.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Buckwheat
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/1642189788

Where to Start

Unread postby Buckwheat » Wed Jan 17, 2018 5:31 am

I am going to be scouting some public land in Oklahoma called Spavinaw WMA. This WMA is approx 11,000 acres. I think that it is fairly heavily hunted during rifle season so I would plan to hunt during the early portion of bow season here. I am fairly new to scouting and hunting public land and have been learning quite a bit but I am curious to get some opinions as to where to start with this property. The shear size I think is what I am struggling with.
Below is a link for the area map:

Spavinaw WMA

etanderson21

Re: Where to Start

Unread postby etanderson21 » Sat Feb 17, 2018 9:38 am

i like to scout with google maps - i can use this at work and in the field - make labels for beds, scrapes, potential stand locations, mark out parking (so i see where people go)

i started by listening and watching dan's videos - with this knowledge, i apply it to the map. look for transition areas, points off island - use google maps for this. google earth also allows you to go back in time and see different time stamp images

finding there is no short cut :dance: . have to put your time in. scout scout scout, hunt. take that knowledge to move in on the kill.

i have brought down deer, yet not mature deer. its been 2 years of learning the area i hunt. so much sign - nipple high rubs, primary beds, etc. yet havent seen many deer when hunting. thus scouting this timeframe is critical - learn where you will sit this fall TODAY.

the image provided looks like this gets pounded by small game hunters because of the walking trails and is just hard woods... any other options of land to hunt around you? i wouldnt hunt this area
Ghost Hunter

Unread postby Ghost Hunter » Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:48 pm