Little exercise/help

Post topo’s and Aerial photos for free advice. Food plotting, land manipulation, water holes, ect.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Justin85

Little exercise/help

Unread postby Justin85 » Sat Aug 09, 2014 5:09 pm

Ok, so just trying to put some places together. If you've ready anything I've posted since I joined, I'm new to Minnesota and new to hunting "Beast" style. Just a southern boy used to setting up on a trail to some akerns (acorns ;) )

So, I'll put a couple photos up, and let you guys tell me what you see. I'm just trying to make a couple starting points to check out once season opens and possibly 'light' scout them before, just to maybe ground truth or get an idea of accessibility without going in and bumping critters.

Let me preface this by I've never hunted land this flat, never hunted wet areas or marshes, and have ordered Marsh Bucks, but it hasn't arrived yet. I'm flying blind.

I started this search by looking for the typical points and such in the marshes and swamps. I'm probably being too picky, but Ive skipped a TON of areas just because it looks like a lot of people frequent, or locals ride 4wheelers on it.

Be gentle, I'm used to big briar thickets and cutovers being the bedding area...Was just about to mark this one off the list and move on until I zoomed in on this area. Is this a bed by the red circle? If so, my logic is he/it/they move east up onto the ridge, which doesnt show on topo, but is obviously there via vegetation difference. Im thinking they stage in the trees and then move north, crossing the 2 track, and into the ag field to feed....or feed in the timber (oaks?). I know it's not remote, but maybe it's over looked? Maybe I'm looking at it wrong. I definitely need some more time in the field to truth or debunk what I see.

Followed up by an over view of this particular area, yellow circle is the "bed" and yellow area is the huntable area.