Help with land

Post topo’s and Aerial photos for free advice. Food plotting, land manipulation, water holes, ect.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

binney59
500 Club

Help with land

Unread postby binney59 » Thu Apr 18, 2013 4:06 am

Hi, we own a 30 acre piece of land that I have been hunting for a few years without much of a plan (hunting off of typical sign, trails, etc). This land always has a few 130+ bucks on it throughout the season and it is not uncommon to spot a 150+ buck most years (although shooting him has proven to be more of a challenge). The land is an an extremely flat area of the state and the topo map looks pretty plain.

The problem I am running in to is that I cannot seem to find the any buck bedding on our property. I have identified three areas where I know does tend to bed but have not found what I could confidently state is a buck bedding area. I guess its possible that we dont have any but wanted to know how you guys would approach this property. I have had Jeff Sturgis walk the property with us and develop a plan that we are working on implementing but I wanted to get your feedback as well (if possible).

The first image is an overview of our entire area with our land in red. The pink area is an area that is an old dump and is closed to hunting. The blue area is a nature preserve that has very little hunting, only allowing youth and disabled hunts.

This is a more zoomed in version of our land with our parcel in the highlighted section. The open area to the southeast is the dump area that is closed to the public.