Infamous buck at the parking lot

Discuss the science of figuring out our prey through good detective work.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

PublicLandOwner529

Infamous buck at the parking lot

Unread postby PublicLandOwner529 » Fri Dec 25, 2020 1:31 am

Got a little time after work yesterday to do a short scouting trip. I have been driving past this certain spot for a couple years and I have seen people hunt it, but have never seen anyone hunt close to the parking lot. It is a transition area between a marsh and hardwood ridges.
So I get down in through the thick stuff and as expected the last 10 yards before the marsh, and 10 yards into the marsh there are trails parallel to the edge. Rubs absolutely everywhere, historic and fresh. Go out to a small tree I can see in the cattails....you guessed it, buck bed. Recently used too, I’d say within a week.
Followed a trail out of the bed back into the thick transition edge, and about 100 yards later I bumped atleast two does. That’s when I stopped and headed back to the truck. I’ll scout it harder after hunting ends this year, but it was pretty awesome. Was never further than 150 yards from the parking lot. This is my first infamous beast style parking lot buck that I’ve found, I’m newer to the beast style. Just thought it was a cool story, the only question I have is does this sound like a rut bed, or more of a permanent bed? I initially thought permanent bed, but then bumping those does, one could have been young and in heat, hence the bed being used within the week...
What do you beasts think?

Ryan549
500 Club

Re: Infamous buck at the parking lot

Unread postby Ryan549 » Fri Dec 25, 2020 1:36 am

I think people would be amazed- myself included- at how close deer are to humans daily. You don’t have be 7 miles deep, sometimes you just have to stop and look around.