Target Buck Located

Discuss the science of figuring out our prey through good detective work.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

danimal_f

Target Buck Located

Unread postby danimal_f » Mon Jul 27, 2020 10:28 am

Hello Beast Forum Members,

I want to start off by saying I am new to beast tactics, and this will really be my first season putting them in to play. I wanted to reach out to the forum to see if there's any tips that can help me in this situation I find myself in.

I braved the heat (92 in Michigan today) to check out a piece of public property today. I was about a mile in to my scouting session when I jumped a bachelor group of bucks. I watched them get out of their beds around 50-60 yards in front of me. One spike ran past me, while the other three, larger bucks ran about 10-15 yards away from me and stopped. I watched them through my binos for a solid 15-20 minutes. The other three deer included a very tall 6, a short and wide 8-point, and what I believe to be a nice 10-point (I didn't get as good of a look at this one). All three of these deer are much larger than any buck I've killed on public land. Their beds were about 20 yards from a small river in a tall grassy area. There was a huge deer run that I had been following that lead me to this area. This whole area was tall grass with mostly dead poplar trees, but did have some clusters of mature oaks dispersed throughout it. There was actually a group of large mature white oaks that was probably 120 yards from their beds.

I have a suspicion that they exit the beds from the area I approached, moving to the mature oak trees as a staging area, but at this point that's all I really have to go off. I am going to study some maps of the neighboring properties to see if I can get a better idea of which way they'll exit their beds. My thought is to put a trail camera up on the run I walked in on, as far from their beds as possible to not disturb them, but I don't want to blow these deer out of the area.