Best GPS App for iPhone?

Discuss the science of figuring out our prey through good detective work.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

xpauliber
500 Club

Best GPS App for iPhone?

Unread postby xpauliber » Tue Oct 01, 2019 9:18 am

So I'm trying to decide which GPS app is the best to use for scouting & marking points & adding photos while I'm scouting. I've found these 3 options:

GPS Kit: http://gpskit.garafa.com/GPSKit/GPS_Kit_for_iPhone_%26_iPad.html
BackCountry Navigator: https://bcnavxe.com/#/
GAIA: https://www.gaiagps.com/

Do you have experience with any of them and/or any recommendations?

My goal is to pair this up with Google Earth. When I'm done scouting for the day, upload all of the data from the app into Google Earth so I have all of my waypoints, notes, photos, etc. stored on Google Earth for reference in the future.

SamPotter
500 Club

Re: Best GPS App for iPhone?

Unread postby SamPotter » Tue Oct 01, 2019 11:24 am

I have zero experience with the
apps you listed. I was using the now defunct Trimble and have now switched to Gaia, which I have good luck syncing up with google earth. I’m sure OnX will get suggested as well, which I have no experience with either. Gaia has good satellite imagery and topo maps and does offer property owner information, but I found the data to be lacking, so OnX might get the nod in that department.
brancher147
500 Club

Unread postby brancher147 » Tue Oct 01, 2019 11:42 am

I used to use backcountry navigator for android and really liked it. I don’t know how or if you can sync up with google earth. Now I am used to onx and pretty happy with it. Seems like everyone I know now uses onx. I did recently have an issue with offline maps on onx and I now wonder how accurate the location is. It was off by about 50 yards which is a lot when you are navigating around a hawthorne thicket lol.
Some do. Some don't. I just might...
Jackson Marsh

Unread postby Jackson Marsh » Tue Oct 01, 2019 12:41 pm