Coming to the same tree

Discuss the science of figuring out our prey through good detective work.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Old Ireland

Coming to the same tree

Unread postby Old Ireland » Thu Apr 12, 2018 1:12 am

Hi all,
I really appreciate all the knowledge on this site and am impressed how respectful everyone is and willing to share. I have ran into a situation I feel I need some advice on as I'm new to hunting public ground. I just started using these tactics and this is my first spring scouting season. I have recently been really checking out a specific piece that has a ton of stands along a creek bottom and the fields that are a decent walk form the parking lot but still pretty easy to access for the most part...I obviously crossed these spot off and worked my way to a far corner piece. I found what I beleive to be primary bedding. Tons of beds with big rubs and scrapes on the exit trails. Anyway, I followed several exit trails out and found a point where they funnel down next to a small creek about 100 yards from the beds. There was a perfect tree and I could access from the creek with no ground scent. I went to check the tree out and I noticed limbs had been freshly cut for strategic shots. So somebody is already planning on hunting the tree... How do you all approach situations like this? Thanks

Mgaspari

Re: Coming to the same tree

Unread postby Mgaspari » Thu Apr 12, 2018 1:44 am

Don’t think there is one answer for that, I only guess. Maybe a gun hunter? Maybe someone like me who preps lots of spots but may never hunt it? Or maybe someone who will sit there every weekend for a month. I look for a combination of clues ie trash left, number or severity of marks on tree from climber or sticks, but it comes down to an educated guess. Only way to know for sure is throw a sit at it, if someone’s there then move on.
If you have a lot of options then cross it off your list, if not a lot of options then give it a try
Redman232