Buck Track Matching

Discuss the science of figuring out our prey through good detective work.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

<DK>
500 Club

Buck Track Matching

Unread postby <DK> » Fri Apr 14, 2017 5:18 am

I am studying some of my track pics from this off season and need some input about matching tracks. Iv read a lot on here about tracking and been applying it for a few seasons now but need some help. I have talked to a couple members about it but looking for some more tips, input, ideas. Some of these are really bad pics...

There is a buck that I have some history w this off season, he has a really cool bed and tracks. His bed is worn to dirt yet its not that thick... on certain winds he is down wind of hunters that leave piles of pee bottles and iv bumped him on way off winds as well so maybe its a bed where he uses vision too. I have a strong gut feeling these are the same buck bc he seems to have a defined dew claw. Im not the most confident tracker yet but I do know when every track that was found I instantly thought same deer. I may be way off base but thats why I need some input... I found other buck tracks around the area but none had the defined dew claws like these:
*DAY 1:
Bed
J Hook Rub
Tracks 1 & 2 (1/4mi S of bed - leaving area)
Track 3 (1/4mi N of bed - towards area)

*DAY 2:
I was extremely pleased to jump the deer again only to re examine his entry trail and find this track right by his nice J hook rub. This is the main one I cant stop thinking about. Here is original large pic and then zoomed in.

This is a seperate buck track that I just wanted to share. Iv heard Dan talk about a buck having a natural spread I finally found one, this deer definitely has that. I caught this track in a creek bottom and was able to back track to an exact bed. Doesnt look like much but it was a cool day.

Ok lastly.... was wondering about tracks IN the beds. Is this heart shape what a buck track looks like when a buck first stands up for the day?

Uncle Lou