Scouting river bottom by boat during high water

Discuss the science of figuring out our prey through good detective work.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

hunter_mike

Scouting river bottom by boat during high water

Unread postby hunter_mike » Wed Dec 23, 2015 12:24 pm

I was thinking of scouting some river bottom this spring. One thing that crossed my mind is scouting by boat just to figure out the lay of the land. There is a lot of flood plain land that i am thinking probably goes underwater often.

I am a river newbie and to be honest, the river intimidates me quite a bit. Would it be a foolish idea to go out in the high water event and do this? I have access to a 14ftx48" (i think) jon boat and also a 16 ft flat back canoe. I am thinking that if i stay in the back water areas with low current i will be safe?

Was wondering if anyone has experience with this.

[ Post made via Android ] Image

“The master has failed more times than the beginner has even tried.”
ihookem
500 Club

Re: Scouting river bottom by boat during high water

Unread postby ihookem » Sat Dec 26, 2015 3:04 pm

Glad to see a newbie intimidated by high water. Keeps you from trouble. If it is the Wisconsin river I would be careful. That is a fast and tricky river. I can't tell ya how many times my boat starts shifting all over the place around Portage. I have a Alumacraft V16 25 horse. Never tipped it but in this water temp and high flow rate it can be dangerous. Go slow and careful . Dont use the canoe. I use a small Jon boat and canoe all the time but winter with ice chunks scare me.
SRWbowhunter

Unread postby SRWbowhunter » Sat Dec 26, 2015 3:19 pm

^^^Good advice