Newbie here. Loking for some advice.

Discuss the science of figuring out our prey through good detective work.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

gman335

Newbie here. Loking for some advice.

Unread postby gman335 » Sat Jan 24, 2015 3:08 am

Hey guys newbie here looking for input.
I have a large piece of public land that I’ve been hunting for the past 2 years. Both years I have captured an absolute stud on trail camera. This is a 160’s class deer that looks to be 20+ inches inside. The first year he was 20 yards in front of my poorly placed tree stand at 12 noon on Nov 5th. I had climbed down from that very stand at 10:15! He came back through heading back the way he came, around 11:30 pm. That was the only pics I got. Never finding any sign that would indicate a deer like this was around I assumed he was just passing through during the rut. However this year I captured pics of him about 3am on Oct 18th within 200 yards of the location of last year. I had a renewed hope that his home area was closer that I had first thought. Unfortunately the season has come and gone and I never saw him again. To my knowledge he is still walking. The Yellow dot is where I got pics of him last year and the red was from this year. I would love to get some ideas and opinions on locating where he may be spending his time. Once November arrives this land gets heavily used and by late Nov dogs are allowed to be used to run deer in this area also. Looking forward to hearing what you guys have to say!

Zona
500 Club

Re: Newbie here. Loking for some advice.

Unread postby Zona » Sat Jan 24, 2015 3:21 am

Couple questions to get your online scouting going.

What is the prevailing wind direction?
Where are the hunter access points?
Where are the food sources?
Tennhunter3
500 Club

Unread postby Tennhunter3 » Sat Jan 24, 2015 3:38 am

The property looks very nice please let us know the prevailing wind direction.
[ Post made via iPhone ] Image
Never give up Freedom for imagined safety.
justdirtyfun