Hill country topo help needed

Discuss the science of figuring out our prey through good detective work.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Dewey

Hill country topo help needed

Unread postby Dewey » Tue Nov 05, 2013 4:01 pm

I am not very experienced at all with hunting hill country but found a spot I want to hunt tomorrow with a SW wind. Hoping you guys that are familiar with this stuff could point me in the right direction on where to set up here.

West is lake, north and south are creek and swamp. I will be coming in from the road on the east. The hills are maple and oaks with some thick cover down low.

Sorry for the topo pic as it's the best I can do here. Might be able to figure out something better if needed.

[ Post made via iPhone ] Image

Beason
500 Club

Re: Hill country topo help needed

Unread postby Beason » Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:37 pm

drainages facing ne. hunt funnels on ne side of ridge 1/3 down.
DEERSLAYER
Super Moderator

Unread postby DEERSLAYER » Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:59 pm

If your looking to hunt in the circled area then I would be expecting the best bedding location for a mature buck to be on the 1790' line on the NE side of the hill that has the 1800' line labeled. If you take the line between the words Marsh & Bay and follow it south to the first east west crossing line (where they intersect at the 1750' mark on the hill) then follow that line east I would expect a buck bed to be where that line intersects the 1790' mark for the second time or there abouts. I would also imagine there would be good movement through the valley/saddle to the east between this hill and the next hill to the east by the road (with the x1814 mark on top). There may be a good buck running does in the bottom of that valley in the morning. There are several good looking spots in that area but if I had to pick one to go in blind on that would be my first choice.

Just my $0.02 for what it's worth.