Can you bump the buck now ?

Discuss the science of figuring out our prey through good detective work.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

dreaming bucks

Can you bump the buck now ?

Unread postby dreaming bucks » Sat Jul 31, 2010 6:57 am

Sorry if this has been covered somewhere already on the site, but I don't remember seeing it...

I'm wondering if you can go bump a buck off his bed this time of year, and not make him leave that bed for good the rest of the year ? I mean, if I go looking for a bedded buck this weekend 7-30-2010, will I ruin my chance of setting up on a buck I see later on for bow season ? Im my own mind, I would think this would not hurt to bump him once, and once only, but maybe I'm wrong ? Since I'm new to this whole tactic of finding there beds and hunting them just out of their staging area, I did not get a jump on it for this year, so wondering if I will do more harm than good ?

Slider1005

Re: Can you bump the buck now ?

Unread postby Slider1005 » Sat Jul 31, 2010 8:23 am

DB, there are more experienced people than me on here but I'll give you my two cents. It's a tough call with the season only a month and a half away. I would say to glass from a distance and try to guess from that where he may be bedding. If you see a buck early it's a safe bet he's bedding nearby. Then consult your topos and aerial photos to try and narrow it down. If you were to dive in and scout, maybe a soft bump like Dan talks about wouldn't hurt you as bad. If it were me though, I'd stay out of there.
dan
Site Owner
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HuntingBeast/?ref=bookmarks

Re: Can you bump the buck now ?

Unread postby dan » Sat Jul 31, 2010 8:56 am