Here's a Buck Puzzle to Solve...

Discuss the science of figuring out our prey through good detective work.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

phade
500 Club

Here's a Buck Puzzle to Solve...

Unread postby phade » Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:29 am

OK, this is going to be long. LONG.

Been looking at this forum for a few days and this is my first post. Seems like a great place for information and I’m a huge student on the scouting/logistics side of hunting.

This place belongs to my FIL. He sits on only about 7-8 acres of land but we can hunt the corn field and woods south of it. I have shown the big view and the smaller one for comparison. The N/S portion of the road is higher in elevation than either side of the woods by about 25 feet…so there is a drop off going into each woods. No clear indication of deer crossing the road. I’ve just now looked at this to hunt during bow, so I’m drawing on gun season information and a gun season scouting trip.

• Yellow dots: Game cam pics of said mature buck in two consecutive years in October and Late November. Pics are shortly after dark…45 minutes to 1.5 hours.

• Blue dots: Current stand or ground blind sites

• Green dots: Scrapes: the two towards the south appear to be a primary scrape location.

• Purple dots: Rubs. N/S rubs indicate movement to North. E/W rubs indicate movement to East. HOWEVER, some of the N/S line has rubs on the opposite direction – but a 4:1 ratio in favor of northern movement.

• Black dots: Potential stand sites – only trees capable of hanging a stand. Very thick and could not locate a suitable ground blind location except for treestand location in the center of the ground.

• White lines: Travel paths known to date. Likely more...just need to get in there and find the rest.

• Yellow circles: Doe sightings and doe sign – appears to be a lone doe family group of 3-4 each year.

• Red dotted line – hunting foot traffic during gun season – lost cam at yellow dot that meets foot traffic.