How many years do you give a spot?

This forum section is for the select few who believe in hard work and refuse to “Buy” success.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Elite
500 Club

How many years do you give a spot?

Unread postby Elite » Sun Dec 26, 2021 2:54 pm

I scouted several public spots last year and located good buck bedding. One spot I hunted this year October 2, November 3 and December 12. All three times I saw zero deer even though the rut and buck sign was there from spring ‘21 scouting and this fall. Not sure if the summer drought had anything to do with the lack of bedding in this particular swamp.
I also hunted another spot Oct 1 and November 2/3 with zero sightings even though the spring scouting showed good rut sign. This is my first year hunting these two pieces so my question is, how many years do you give public spots before you abandon them? I have aerial scouted several different pieces that I’m looking forward to walking this coming spring. It’s hard to hunt them all especially during the rut and vacation time.

oldrank

Re: How many years do you give a spot?

Unread postby oldrank » Sun Dec 26, 2021 4:00 pm

Are you talking about an area or a specific stand location? Here areas get hot and cold. It could be a specific time of year they heat up, crop rotation or hunting pressure that makes a spot hot or cold. If I know in my heart it has good sign or lays out geographically the way I want I will always keep it in my mind.

Specific stand sites get tweaked all the time though. If I find something that is better action or gives me a better advantage I will make small moves and may never hunt the stands sites that were inferior ever again.