Big woods bedding?

This forum section is for the select few who believe in hard work and refuse to “Buy” success.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Eastcoasthunter91

Big woods bedding?

Unread postby Eastcoasthunter91 » Sun Oct 10, 2021 2:30 am

Hey yall new guy here. I'm from eastern Maryland where there's no elevation change so I find limited info on finding beds in big flat pine woods with some hardwoods and creeks throughout. Just wondering where to begin and what to look for I'm pretty new to public always hunted private land with ag fields and very little woods to get into

JustinP

Re: Big woods bedding?

Unread postby JustinP » Sun Oct 10, 2021 2:51 am

I've hunted almost exclusively big woods for my whole life, with a little farm country mixed in when I was young.
Somebody more knowledgeable, successful, and a more hardcore hunter than me may disagree and may very well be right too, but I still think that big woods bucks have more bedding opportunities available to them and therefore use a particular bed less frequently than smaller parcel bucks so it's harder to nail down those areas. I still have trouble with beds, I seem to find a lot of disposable one time use beds. There are not such defined food sources here, no apples, no mast crops and no agriculture, deer tend to meander along and browse on this and that. So my theory is bedding areas are less defined because almost every area is a feeding area, there is less point A to point B movement.
Around here I do find them in clumps of small cedars or balsam trees, and little islands of high ground in peat marshes, mini transition areas of good cover and protection.
I'm not sure where to look in your pine woods. Maybe transition areas of small patches of thick young pines that offer more cover than the mature pines, if such area exist....
Tiny little rises, even 10"-12" makes a difference when it's platter flat country.
Jazzy66171

Unread postby Jazzy66171 » Sun Oct 10, 2021 3:01 am