Opening Day

This forum section is for the select few who believe in hard work and refuse to “Buy” success.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Stretchy

Opening Day

Unread postby Stretchy » Wed Aug 21, 2019 12:53 pm

This is my first year hunting beast style on public land. I have spent tons of time reading, researching, scouting, etc. I have identified a lot of potential set ups ( buck Bedding areas as well as specific beds.) How do I decide where to start or more specifically, sit on opening day? What factors would help you determine how to prioritize your spots? Thanks!!!

-Stretch
Trout
500 Club

Re: Opening Day

Unread postby Trout » Wed Aug 21, 2019 1:10 pm

My plan is to wait till a few days before and see what direction the wind will be from, then pick one of my spots that is right for that wind. If I've got a target deer by then, I'll cross my fingers that that wind is right for where he is in the early season. If I dont have a target deer, Ill be hunting terrain features right for that wind in areas I know good deer exist.
greenhorndave
500 Club

Unread postby greenhorndave » Wed Aug 21, 2019 1:15 pm

Trout wrote:My plan is to wait till a few days before and see what direction the wind will be from, then pick one of my spots that is right for that wind. If I've got a target deer by then, I'll cross my fingers that that wind is right for where he is in the early season. If I dont have a target deer, Ill be hunting terrain features right for that wind in areas I know good deer exist.

This is what I’m thinking. Although I will miss the opening two days, which gets me a little anxious, but I’m taking the following week off. There are a few spots I’m not sure of in terms of acorn crop for this year, but there’s no way I’m going to go in and find out until the day I hunt them.
----------
Sometimes when things get tough, weird or both, you just need to remember this...
https://youtu.be/d4tSE2w53ts
Jonny
500 Club

Unread postby Jonny » Wed Aug 21, 2019 2:00 pm