Bedding area in relation to firearm noise

This forum section is for the select few who believe in hard work and refuse to “Buy” success.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Abock33

Bedding area in relation to firearm noise

Unread postby Abock33 » Tue Nov 06, 2018 5:40 am

So to start off I'm very new to diy hunting. I used to go with my uncles and they would pick the stand locations for me. This is my first full season on strictly public land by myself.

That said I have a plot of land that is 1000 acres of hardwoods but most of it can marked off as unhuntible due to high traffic from other hunters and small game areas. There is a spot that might be promising but it is within 800 yards of an active trap range as well as 600 yards from a target range. Is something like this even worth looking at or is it a waste of time to try to put boots on the ground and hunt it. If the ranges are both heavily used is this going to be considered a threat to the bucks. It's an archery only wma but it does allow black powder in December for a week. I'm running out of spots in this plot that dont have 3- 4 stands in a 60 yard radius.

Educate me.

Redman232

Re: Bedding area in relation to firearm noise

Unread postby Redman232 » Tue Nov 06, 2018 5:52 am

Deer get used to and tolerate the gun fire.
RiverBottoms
500 Club

Unread postby RiverBottoms » Tue Nov 06, 2018 5:54 am

I personally would not be deterred from that spot. The deer adapt pretty quickly, and if the trap range is used daily, then they will get used to the noise. The key is that there is some type of an area that gives them secure cover, without human intrusion (smell, people walking around bumping them from their beds). I've done some urban hunting, and you'd be surprised how much noise there is, even midweek, and how the deer don't seem to mind over time.
Abock33

Unread postby Abock33 » Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:06 am