No man is an island..but he'll hunt one!

This forum section is for the select few who believe in hard work and refuse to “Buy” success.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Fins & Tines

No man is an island..but he'll hunt one!

Unread postby Fins & Tines » Sun Jun 25, 2017 7:29 am

Working on scouting a "new" piece of Public. I've been fishing this lake for 20+ years, duck hunted on it, turkey hunted around it, and now I'm going to deer hunt on it.

I found a large island on the lake that looks promising, or at least I hope it does. I'm not exactly sure what to make of it. It's about 200 acres, hardwoods and a few cedars. When the lake drops to winter pool, you can easily walk from the island to the main land, otherwise it's about 3'-5' deep for the closest/shortest crossing. I've seen deer swim in this lake on the other end over 40' of water in the late summer, so I know this shallow cove isn't an issue for them.

Is it worth putting boots on the ground? This land used to be a farming community before the lake was impounded. In some of the photos below, you can see the fence lines on the North end. These are important because they create funnels/crossings, IF this island has deer on it. I haven't stepped foot on it yet, so your guess is as good as mine. I'm betting it does, though.

I have a boat, so walking distance is not an issue in this case.

First, let's start with the Topo overlaid on satellite imagery.

Next up is the satellite imagery, starting on the North end first. Notice the dates of the photos.

The South end. Here you can also see the land connection in the SW corner during winter pool.

I feel like it's worth the effort to check it out. It could be hunted on all winds, since I can access from any direction. Pressure should be low, if none.

Bonecrusher101
500 Club

Re: No man is an island..but he'll hunt one!

Unread postby Bonecrusher101 » Sun Jun 25, 2017 1:04 pm