Public Land Plateau

This forum section is for the select few who believe in hard work and refuse to “Buy” success.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

headgear
500 Club

Public Land Plateau

Unread postby headgear » Sun Apr 27, 2014 1:02 pm

Hey guys, not having a great scouting season so far, hit about a half dozen new areas and covered a lot of ground. Just not finding the beds or sign of years past. A lot of times that is normal but some of these areas look really good and don't appear to get too much pressure. I have been spring scouting for 10+ years, and beast scouting for 5 years so the experience is there. Anyone else have anything like this happen?

I will try and answer my own question, at least say what I think might be happening. I do kind of wonder if I have found most of the better public bedding areas already, or at least picked off the low hanging fruit so to speak. Maybe I need to expand my range, right now anything within 45 minutes to an hour drive is fair game. I haven't hit all the public land but I have walked most of the stuff that has interested me while cyber scouting. I also kind of wonder about the buck population, we all know its down everywhere and the past couple winters have been harder than usual on the MN herd so maybe I just need to give it some time and hit some of these spots again. I do see some old sign out there but not enough to make me want to hunt that area, I should say I am a little picky when it comes to bedding area I hunt. I just feel on public its not worth hunting some spots because the sign is good, it needs to be great.

Hopefully it doesn't sound like I am complaining, I have found a ton of great spots to hunt. I did find one ok spot this year and even if I don't find anything else I will have more than enough beds to keep my busy this fall. Just seem to be having an unusual year. 8-)

Czabs
500 Club
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Behind-T ... 0697772652

Re: Public Land Plateau