Pheasant hunting pressure

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

elGuapo

Pheasant hunting pressure

Unread postby elGuapo » Wed Oct 20, 2021 3:46 am

So, I went for an afternoon/evening sit in some public that I've been scouting. Nice mix of swamp around the edges. woods, and fields... some fields natural, some planted in corn. Decent sign along the field edges. Picked a spot that was in the woods off a corn field. A nice corridor in the woods between the field edge and the thick. Ready for some evening traffic.

Then I was reminded that this public is stocked with pheasant. The orange army came out in force. Started feeling a bit nervous. I actually heard the pellets from a shot-gun blast hit the leaves probably 150 yards away. Time to get out of Dodge. Hugged my tree until the coast was clear and then made my way out.

My bad for sure. But I'm kind of new to this and didn't understand the implications of the pheasant season.

I'm guessing that this pressure will push the deer deeper into the swamp and/or woods until well after dark, even if they aren't being hunted directly by this particular orange army. Might be that I can use this pressure to my advantage. Any thoughts on how the deer will react to this kind of pressure? How far are they likely to move away from somewhat steady shotgun blasts. I have scouted the marsh area and there are significant deer trails there... I just haven't pushed that deep yet.

I know nothing of pheasant hunting. Those hunters were certainly in the fields, but will they head into the woods and marsh areas? I'm thinking I would go deep and perhaps stay on the ground to avoid any shots to the air.... and wear my orange.

Bonecrusher101
500 Club

Re: Pheasant hunting pressure

Unread postby Bonecrusher101 » Wed Oct 20, 2021 3:57 am