For those of you that hunt from the ground…

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

CTBuckHunterMH

For those of you that hunt from the ground…

Unread postby CTBuckHunterMH » Wed Jun 30, 2021 2:23 am

What type of footwear do you use? I’ve been using neoprene muck boots for the past 5 years to be able to walk through water and still keep my feet dry and warm. But I cannot stay stealthy in them to save my life. My feet will slide within the boot, knocking me off balance in uneven terrain. I can’t feel the ground with them so I often snap branches pretty frequently. What do you guys use to keep quiet, stable, dry and warm?

Tsom
500 Club

Re: For those of you that hunt from the ground…

Unread postby Tsom » Wed Jun 30, 2021 3:31 am

https://www.cabelas.com/shop/en/irish-s ... lsrc=3p.ds
I much prefer these in over mucks they are more form fitting and my heels don't move around in them like they do in mucks and they're more flexible. I got the uninsulated ones. I use them still hunting and tracking though so feet stay warm.
Rich M
500 Club

Unread postby Rich M » Wed Jun 30, 2021 5:53 am

I prefer a foot holding rubber boot. LaCrosse or whatever brands they have. Last pair I had the soles fell off. Glued em back on, the soles fell off again. One more time...

I ended up with the Cabelas version of the Muck boots. I don't think they hold my scent in as well as the rubber boots. Got em on sale with a $25 gift card on top of that...

The whole thing about trying to sneak up on a buck - you gotta go slow.
MichiganMike
500 Club

Unread postby MichiganMike » Wed Jun 30, 2021 7:25 am

I use Dryshod boots for river bottoms/marsh terrain etc. Really no way to be totally stealthy in this terrain, so I don't still hunt these areas- I get where I need to go and stay put.