Hello from da UP.

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Yooper Wood Butcher

Hello from da UP.

Unread postby Yooper Wood Butcher » Sat Oct 17, 2020 1:17 pm

Hey everyone, glad to be part of this forum. My name is Andrew and I live in Marquette Co, MI. I'm a carpenter and love where I live, even though it's some pretty hard hunting lol. I grew up down state on the west side of the mitten. The church I attended growing up had a program called "Fellowship of Christian Bow hunters". Now neither of my parents were outdoors people but I had a love for it very early on. My buddy fatty and I started "hunting" with bb guns when we were 8 or so and I got my grandpa's single shot 20g when I was 12. Around that time the men of the church invited me to learn how to shoot a bow with them. I became hooked and started shooting all the time. Eventually my parents got keys to the church so I would snag the keys after school and shoot, (there may of been a few times that i propped open the doors in the gym and hallway so I could take 40 yard shots lol). As I got into my teens I was shooting in the fairs and some tournys, and did pretty well. When I was 15 or so and older guy, Mike, invited me out to my first bow hunting outing. We practiced a bunch from a tree stand and I felt confident in my abilities. Mike was a very good archer and was actually sponsored by various companies (one of them was Wheeler archery who's no longer in buisness I think but I still have the bow he gave me from them). Now this was a while ago so I forget the company and exact equipment he was using during this hunt, but a company sent him a product to use and test out during this season. It was some sort of saddle, but not like I see the ones some of you have. Well we eventually did go hunting. He had permission to park at this farm house and from there we walked for half a mile or so through fields and into the w