Elusive Target Buck

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

GeneralLee

Elusive Target Buck

Unread postby GeneralLee » Thu Oct 15, 2020 6:49 am

Fellow Beasts,

I'm new to this style of hunting, and hoping by sharing this scenario with you I can gain some insight into potential bedding area of this target buck. I've laid out all of the current info that I have from a previous trail camera photo. I have history with this deer, and he's eluded me for years now. He has frequented this area for years now, so I do believe this is his main stomping grounds. I've had night pictures of him all over the area over the past few years, but the most consistent is in this core area. He becomes nearly nocturnal very shortly after season starts. But I do believe with careful consideration I can get him. Unfortunately, I do not have access to be able to hunt this deer this season, but next season I will. I will spend my time in the offseason hunting down his bedding areas and making a plan from there. I know getting hung up on a particular buck isn't the best idea, but this one I'm willing to waste another year or two on before I give up on him. I will know if he is taken by another hunter, as I am close with the lease members. I feel like if I can use the beast tactics to hunt this deer down, my confidence as a hunter will go up tremendously, and I will continue to hunt like a beast for the forseeable future.