Confidence and Deer Hunting

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Colingraat
Facebook: Colin Graat

Confidence and Deer Hunting

Unread postby Colingraat » Sat Oct 03, 2020 2:31 am

New ish beast here. I hunt farmland type areas, with alot of low brushy swamps. I can and have found some beds and bedding areas with good buck sign in them. I am struggling with when to hunt them because i really dont know when the deer are using them, if its the deer i am after. Also everyone talks about scouting during season, but what does this really mean. Is this scouting walking into an area or is that actually walking the areas you think could be good. Just not sure i want to do that during season.

Zephyrus
Facebook: Jason L Anderson

Re: Confidence and Deer Hunting

Unread postby Zephyrus » Sat Oct 03, 2020 3:37 am

I'm no expert either, but instead of going straight from "point A to point B" like your average hunter - the ones that park their truck on the side of the road 50 yards from their stand - park silently away, take "the scenic route" where you think you could expect deer activity.

While going in, keep your eyes peeled for signs of browsing activity, tracks (big/small), trails you didn't know of, scat, bedding, etc. Did you jump something? Where at? Where did they go? Was it big? Is this an area you'd want to explore later? Does the sign show that this new area (on the way to where you were going) is maybe good enough to stop and set up on?
I welcome constructive criticism to any of my comments, because Knowledge is Power!
Colingraat

Unread postby Colingraat » Sat Oct 03, 2020 4:45 am