Marsh islands advice - what to key in on?

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Pfunk

Marsh islands advice - what to key in on?

Unread postby Pfunk » Mon Mar 09, 2020 1:50 pm

I’m new to the beast and planning to start targetting buck bedding using the tactics I have learned here. I need some advice on hunting isolated islands out in the marsh.

I scouted a large tract of public land the other day and it’s about an hour and a half drive for me. Between that and having young kids at home, it’ll be hard for me to spend a lot of time there, so I’m hoping to learn some things that hopefully shorten the learning curve.

I put on many miles and hopped from island to island. I was on islands 1/4 acre all the way up to 25-30 acres. I’m still learning on how to read bedding but with snow still present in many areas I wasn’t seeing any obvious beds, but what was evident was that on most fingers/narrow points there were obvious trails and usually rubs towards the end of those points.

I’m curious when you guys are scouting these places, is it usually obvious which islands are hot that you will want to target?

Are you looking for well used bedding sites that are obviously advantageous for the deer?

Are you looking for heavier concentrations of rubs?

Are you looking not for numbers of rubs but the presence of a few or even one mature buck rub higher on the tree?

Are you keying in on a difference in food source (like maybe only a few islands have white oaks when the majority are red oaks)?

Are clusters of islands in close proximity preferred over an isolated island all by itself thinking more deer could be using and traveling within that “system”?