New to mobile hunting, saddle or stand ?

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Harris08

New to mobile hunting, saddle or stand ?

Unread postby Harris08 » Tue Feb 04, 2020 4:46 pm

I am Fairly new to mobile hunting. I began to try hang and hunt set ups last season and have desided to almost strictly hunt this way . I have hunted out of hang on treestands that are pre hung for most of my hunting career and i am comfortable with that setup. I have become very interested in the use of treesaddles for mobile hunting and can see the benifits of using them (light weight, safe etc).
My question is what kind of experience / cons have people had switching from a treestand to saddle. is there anything that people feel is a downside to a saddle or something they never could get use to? . I am just on the fence about investing in a setup and not sure if its worth the hype . Any input would be appreciated thank you.

KRoss480

Re: New to mobile hunting, saddle or stand ?

Unread postby KRoss480 » Tue Feb 04, 2020 11:42 pm

I recently switched to a saddle last year and couldn’t see myself ever going back. There is a learning curve with a saddle, so I would say practice before you start hunting and be open minded.
True knowledge exists in knowing that you know nothing.
wolverinebuckman
500 Club

Unread postby wolverinebuckman » Wed Feb 05, 2020 12:16 am

I went from a climber to a saddle and love it. I use steps instead of sticks, and can fit everything into a backpack. It is light, easy to maneuver through thick brush, and quite. In the tree I feel very safe, and comfortable.
I built my set up, using a rock climbing harness and a piece of fleece material... very comfortable, and a cheap way to get started to see if you like it. I don't know that I'll ever have a reason to buy a manufactured saddle.
Bummer of a birthmark, Hal.
Thesouthpaw
500 Club