Have you ever stopped hunting a buck?

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

AfootTrack56

Have you ever stopped hunting a buck?

Unread postby AfootTrack56 » Thu Oct 10, 2019 5:58 am

I’ve been chasing a particular buck since December 2014. He was big then, and he’s still big, but on the decline. The problem is he spends 95% of his time on land I can’t hunt. The good thing is, there is zero hunting pressure where he lives and virtually zero pressure on the public. It’s super low deer density in this area. I’m talking 6 deer. Two are bucks and four does. It’s a pretty tough nut to crack.

My question is, would you leave em to hunt something else? I’m throwing a few hunts at it each fall, when the weather is right, and usually hunt a higher populated area with very nice bucks the rest of the time.

stash59

Re: Have you ever stopped hunting a buck?

Unread postby stash59 » Thu Oct 10, 2019 6:08 am

Though the odds are low. You definitely won't kill it if you don't try. Kind of a personal thing if you feel it's a waste of time. On the other hand spending more time might be when you finally catch him where he can be killed.
Happiness is a large gutpile!!!!!!!
AfootTrack56

Unread postby AfootTrack56 » Thu Oct 10, 2019 6:41 am

Yeah, the odds are definitely low, but I keep trying it. I figure he’ll die of old age or he’ll get a ride in my truck. I’m thinking this fall is gonna be the time we cross paths. There are too many dominos falling into place so far. We had three rainstorms fall on the same spot in the area. That’s got the best feed now, and it’s been really dry. Limited water sources really narrow things down. I have the fawn drop pegged, so it’s looking like Christmas time, or mid to late January as prime times. My buddy threw in the towel 3 years ago. I just can’t tap out. This deer isnt getting a free pass.

Here he is in 2015