Need help with set up!

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Lonewolf_1981

Need help with set up!

Unread postby Lonewolf_1981 » Fri Aug 02, 2019 3:14 am

Alright fellow beasters! I'm still new to beast style but have been adjusting my style for about 2 years now. I found a very hot bedding spot on the last day of my hunt last year in this specific area. I found it on a mid day scout but stupid me didn't have my stand and sticks on my back so I had to trek back to the truck. Upon coming back about 2 hours later I had a nice buck already come back to bed and I bumped him out. In efforts to be more prepared this year I hung a cam on the timber trail but need your help on how I should hunt this timber island/marsh edge come fall. So tell me how would you access and where would you set up. I've tried to label the pic with the most information possible.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

backstraps

Re: Need help with set up!

Unread postby backstraps » Fri Aug 02, 2019 8:08 am

Which marker is the buck bed? The one to the east in the picture?

Is the footpath you used to hang cam your only access?

Is the map facing with up being true north, and whats your prevailing wind?
Lonewolf_1981

Unread postby Lonewolf_1981 » Wed Aug 07, 2019 3:06 am

backstraps wrote:Which marker is the buck bed? The one to the east in the picture?

Is the footpath you used to hang cam your only access?

Is the map facing with up being true north, and whats your prevailing wind?

- Orange dots are beds, so west in picture.

- No I basically walked in through the deer path in early July. It is thick but walk-able.

- Map is set up for true north. I would say prevailing wind is a South, Southwest. I have only been exposed to this area for 3 years as its a destination hunt and I don't live in this state.
backstraps