Travel Routes

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Hildebrand

Travel Routes

Unread postby Hildebrand » Mon Mar 18, 2019 11:15 pm

Hi, I am more of a reader and not much of a poster. I have come to this page to gather as much information as I can on deer hunting. First off I would like to say i am pretty new to hunting. I kind of just took it up and I am teaching myself, thats why i read a lot.
I am trying to learn how and why deer use travel routes. I hunt a woods that sits pretty much all alone. I am surrounded by 4 fields. The deer have to cross fields in order to get into the woods. The woods is probably about 40 acers. The one section was logged out about 10 years ago and has made for some really good bedding but you cant really hunt it because i have no way to get in and set up without bumping deer. The other have was just select cut and just finished up friday. I went yesterday and pushed deer just to see how things were. They left all the tops and left ruts and paths through out the woods. My questions are, what makes a deer choose a path to head to food at night ? i know two fields are going to be corn this year,one is wheat right now and one will be split with beans and pumpkins. I am having a hard time trying to understand why a deer chooses certain way to dinner and back. I do want to add this is all flat land in michigan and we have no water on this land besides way off the woods theres a creek. Two rivers 400 yards away or soo too. I always have great pictures all summer but but truthfully not many repeats of the deer using that path i have my cam set up on. I might catch them a handful of times one way but hardly ever using the bath to enter and exit. I will catch them on other cameras the same way.