Deer Bedding after a long flood

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

greygunner07

Deer Bedding after a long flood

Unread postby greygunner07 » Sat Jan 05, 2019 4:00 am

Hey Everyone! This is my first year going from hunting stationary stands that we've had for years to using beast tactics and I've already had a dramatic increase in the amount of deer I see.

Earlier this season I located several buck beds along the creek and have narrowed down the primary beds for two large bucks that I have been after in a string of oaks that follow the creek. But, the rain Georgia has been getting over the last several weeks has put most of this area under 1'-2' of water. I'm looking to get some advice for what others have seen the bucks do when primary bedding gets flooded. I cant imagine the bucks bedding in water and it's pretty flat land so there aren't any significant dry spots (at least that I have found) along that creek. Are transition lines next to the edge going to be my best bet or has anyone seen deer completely move out of the swamp and head for the pines?

Trying to post a picture but I cant seem to figure this out?

Thanks in advance!

ghoasthunter
500 Club

Re: Deer Bedding after a long flood

Unread postby ghoasthunter » Sun Jan 06, 2019 3:19 am

alot depends on pressure if its low the deer just might bed on the edge deer are not afraid of water especially big old bucks when every other deer moves out some of the big ones will be stubborn if there is high ground big enough for a buck too lay on he could be there. im hunting two bucks right now like this standing water a foot deep for miles and the big bucks are bedding on humps in the thick swamp that are only a foot higher.
THE MOST IMPORTANT TOOL A HUNTER HAS IS BETWEEN HIS SHOULDERS
greygunner07

Unread postby greygunner07 » Wed Jan 09, 2019 5:48 am