Game over?

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

Beararchery87

Game over?

Unread postby Beararchery87 » Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:00 am

Hey All,

This is my first post. Just a little background, this is my first year trying to do it “beast style”, playing the wind,hunting less, but smarter and being mobile, etc.

Background info:
I had been seeing good bucks on early season trailcams so I have been tiptoeing around a small property I have permission to hunt. The soybean field at the heart of the farm has been getting scraped up pretty hard, so I put some trail cams over different scrapes on 2 sides of the field. After checking the cams on Saturday at noon in the rain (to cut down on scent). I saw that a good buck was coming to the field regularly between 2-3 am and around dark (6:58pm legal end time)as well, so I decided to set up just inside the bean field in the woods near the scrapes.

The hunt:
Saturday night I get into the stand 3:30pm, ( keep in mind this is a run and gun type hunt, and I don’t have time to trim lanes as where I think they will come from is very open) I’m in the stand 20 minutes and a button buck comes by at 20 yards, and I let him walk, then at 5:30pm I look to the bean field and one of the big boys I have been seeing is working the scrape! (Heart pounding),lol. So he is working the field edge as there are 4 scrapes in a row, he is at 25 yards, due to a poor shot I don’t take it. He starts working along the field again,he’s walking.. finally to an opening! Range it, 26 yards, (okay great, keep calm...) I draw back, his front shoulder gets in the opening and I go to stop him with a mouth bleat... he drops at the sound and bounds off through the beans and out of my life... ugh!