Any Advice For Hunting In State Parks?

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

JohnathonP
Facebook: Johnathon Patzwald

Any Advice For Hunting In State Parks?

Unread postby JohnathonP » Sun Oct 14, 2018 2:16 am

Going to be hunting some state parks in Illinois this October and I would love to get any tips or suggestions from you guys. I was awarded a permit through a lottery system, in which only five hunters will be allowed to hunt a designated week in an assigned zone of the park. Side note, the hiking trails will still be open to the public. This is my first time trying these parks and I'm hoping to get any tips or suggestions from you guys for hunting smaller state parks.

Thank you in advance and good luck out there!

street28ss

Re: Any Advice For Hunting In State Parks?

Unread postby street28ss » Sun Oct 14, 2018 3:49 am

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=24471

I'm not trying to be negative, but the information you are looking for has been talked about ad nauseam by the long time members. I think this link will give you enough info.
Uncle Lou

Unread postby Uncle Lou » Mon Oct 15, 2018 12:09 am

Like street 28 said, but focus on a little cyber scouting, followed by boots on the ground with stand and sticks, be mobile, be silent. Good luck
Silence Your Gear with Stealth Strips®
http://www.stealthoutdoors.com
Jonny
500 Club

Unread postby Jonny » Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:06 am

Print a map. Highlight hiking trails and access points (parking areas). Then either go towards the nastiest part of the park, or see if there is a spot that seems like the others would walk past. Maybe there is a small island of ground open to hunting?