Tree stand - Too many options!

Discuss deer hunting tactics, Deer behavior. Post your Hunting Stories, Pictures, and Questions/Answers.
  • Advertisement

HB Store

MalmIA

Tree stand - Too many options!

Unread postby MalmIA » Fri Aug 10, 2018 9:40 am

This is my first year implementing the beast tactics. Cant wait. Need a run n gun stand though.
Looking for some feedback on some of these stands. I have never used any of them

Lone Wolf Assault 1 or assault 2?
LW Alpha 1 or 2?
XOP air raid or Vanish?

dissecting these is getting old, they are so similar. I want to see what the majority uses and if any pros or cons?

Thanks in advance

Jonny
500 Club

Re: Tree stand - Too many options!

Unread postby Jonny » Fri Aug 10, 2018 9:45 am

Well assault 1 and alpha 1 aren’t made anymore. If you can find them used, that’s my choice every day of the week.

Assault 2 is short. If you are tall, you probably won’t like it. But it is light. Alpha 2 is very solid. Honestly don’t know anybody who doesn’t like it, unless they are really small guys.

Xop is cheaper and you get what you pay for. It’s heavier as well. Vanish is smaller than air raid, but a tad bigger than the assault 2. Has a narrow v so with only one strap it isn’t the most stable.

I’d look to buy a used lone wolf. I have an xop silver (old model that was replaced with the air raid) and an assault 1. I use the assault 90% of my hunts.

Both will get the job done at the end of the day.
You have a monkey Mr. Munson?
Boogieman1
500 Club

Unread postby Boogieman1 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 9:47 am

To many options is a good thing! Ask a ole timer about options... They basically had a choice of 2x4s vs 2x6's! Truth is anything can work if u try hard enough. It's just what u personally are looking for, each has pro's and cons. Your pro's are gonna be diff than mine. Pick something you are comfortable with and master it is my advice.
Life is hard; It’s even harder if you are stupid.
-John Wayne-
Enkriss
500 Club